Leeds HLC

Covering 212 square miles (54,900 hectares), Leeds District is the largest and most population dense of all of the five districts in West Yorkshire. The Leeds HLC project video below demonstrates visually the growth of Leeds since the 11th century.


Most noticeably is the rise in residential dwellings from the 19th century to the present day. The maps below illustrate this – use the scroll bar to navigate your way through the maps.

The maps shown above focus upon the key land use areas of:

  • Commercial (e.g. business parks, warehousing, retail parks and shopping centres);
  • Communications (e.g. rail infrastructure, major roads, canals and airports);
  • Enclosed Land (e.g. agglomerated fields, piecemeal enclosures and surveyed enclosures);
  • Extractive (e.g. quarries, mines, clay pits and landfill);
  • Horticulture;
  • Industrial (e.g. textile mills, utility works and food processing);
  • Institutional (e.g. barracks, religious place of worship, cemeteries, schools and hospitals);
  • Open Land (e.g. moorland, commons/greens and wetlands);
  • Parkland and Recreational (e.g. parks, playing fields, golf courses and allotments);
  • Residential;
  • Water (e.g. lakes and reservoirs);
  • Woodland.

The Leeds Historic Landscape Characterisation Project Report

The Leeds Historic Landscape Characterisation Project Report illustrates how our surroundings are dynamically changing and that these changes are part of a long history of human influence on the landscape.

To download a copy of the report, please click on the link below.


Download Leeds HLC Report