Kirklees HLC

Covering an area of 157 square miles (40,720 hectares), the Kirklees district comprises the main towns of Batley, Cleckheaton, Dewsbury, Heckondwike, Huddersfield, Marsden, Mirfield and Slaithwaite. Like all of the districts in West Yorkshire, the landscape of Kirklees has changed significantly since 1066. The Historic Landscape Characterisation Project allows us to appreciate these changes.



The maps below illustrate these changes over the past ten centuries – use the scroll bar to navigate your way through the maps from 1066 to 2015.

The maps above focus upon the key land use areas of:

  • Commercial (e.g. business parks, warehousing, retail parks and shopping centres);
  • Communications (e.g. rail infrastructure, major roads, canals and airports);
  • Enclosed Land (e.g. agglomerated fields, piecemeal enclosures and surveyed enclosures);
  • Extractive (e.g. quarries, mines, clay pits and landfill);
  • Horticulture;
  • Industrial (e.g. textile mills, utility works and food processing);
  • Institutional (e.g. barracks, religious place of worship, cemeteries, schools and hospitals);
  • Open Land (e.g. moorland, commons/greens and wetlands);
  • Parkland and Recreational (e.g. parks, playing fields, golf courses and allotments);
  • Residential;
  • Water (e.g. lakes and reservoirs);
  • Woodland.

The Kirklees Historic Landscape Characterisation Project Report

The Kirklees Historic Landscape Characterisation Project Report clearly conveys the amount by which earlier landscapes are visible in the district’s present landscape.

To download a copy of the report, please click on the link below.


Download Kirklees HLC Report