Bradford HLC

Covering 141 square miles (36,520 hectares), the Bradford District is the fourth largest metropolitan district (in terms of population) in England after Birmingham, Leeds and Sheffield. The District, as you would expect, has changed significantly over the years and the Historic Landscape Characterisation Project has allowed us to depict the changes in landscape through time – from 1066 to 2015.


The maps below illustrate these changes - use the scroll bar at the bottom to see how Bradford's landscape has changed from 1066 to the present day.

The maps highlight landscape changes in the Bradford District, focusing upon the key land use areas of:

  • Commercial - e.g. business parks, warehousing, retail parks and shopping centres;
  • Communications - e.g. rail infrastructure, major roads, canals and airports;
  • Enclosed Land - e.g. agglomerated fields, piecemeal enclosures and surveyed enclosures;
  • Extractive - e.g. quarries, mines, clay pits and landfill;
  • Horticulture;
  • Industrial - e.g. textile mills, utility works and food processing;
  • Institutional - e.g. barracks, religious place of worship, cemeteries, schools and hospitals;
  • Open Land - e.g. moorland, commons/greens and wetlands;
  • Parkland and Recreational - e.g. parks, playing fields, golf courses and allotments;
  • Residential;
  • Water - e.g. lakes and reservoirs;
  • Woodland.

The Bradford Historic Landscape Characterisation Project Report

In the Bradford Historic Landscape Characterisation Project Report, there is a full settlement analysis for each of the District’s populated areas, showing how towns and villages have developed over time. The settlement analysis helps to evaluate land use, management and associated settlement patterns.

To download a copy of the report, please click on the link below.


Download Bradford HLC Report