Events

We run a wide range of events and activities at the West Yorkshire History Centre in Wakefield.

You can see a full list of our current events on this page, but check back regularly as we are adding new dates all the time.

Book events

Archive surgery

Thursday 27 July 2017 (10:00 AM - 2:00 PM)
Book a slot with one of our archive team to help guide you through using our fascinating collections.

Family activities - Summer 2017

Tuesday 1 August 2017 (10:30 AM - 1:00 PM)
Family friendly, make and take craft activities inspired by our collections

Family activities - Summer 2017

Tuesday 8 August 2017 (10:30 AM - 1:00 PM)
Family friendly, make and take craft activities inspired by our collections

Family activities - Summer 2017

Tuesday 15 August 2017 (10:30 AM - 1:00 PM)
Family friendly, make and take craft activities inspired by our collections

WYAS at Fountains Abbey

Friday 18 August 2017 to Saturday 19 August 2017)
A chance to see original documents from 900 years ago relating to the early days of Fountains Abbey

Family activities - Summer 2017

Tuesday 22 August 2017 (10:30 AM - 1:00 PM)
Family friendly, make and take craft activities inspired by our collections

Family activities - Summer 2017

Tuesday 29 August 2017 (10:30 AM - 1:00 PM)
Family friendly, make and take craft activities inspired by our collections

Archives skills course 1 - What the heck are 'archives'?

Tuesday 5 September 2017 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)
A beginners introduction to historic archive collections

Archive skills course 2 - Growing your family tree

Tuesday 12 September 2017 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)
An introduction to researching your family tree

Archive skills course 3 - If walls could talk

Tuesday 19 September 2017 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)
A basic introduction into researching the history of your house

Archives skills course 4 - Palaeography

Tuesday 26 September 2017 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)
Exploring the quirks of seventeenth and eighteenth century handwriting

Archive skills course 5 - Caring for photographs

Tuesday 3 October 2017 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)
An introduction to caring for photograph

Archive skills course 6 - Unlocking our institutions

Tuesday 10 October 2017 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)
How asylum, prison, reformatory schools and workhouse records can help with your family history

Exhibition - Coal faces

Saturday 9 September 2017 to Thursday 30 November 2017)
A new exhibition exploring some of the stories of coal mining in West Yorkshire